Urology Chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Velocity670

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone!

Long time lurker. I'm a 3rd medical student at a US mid-tier program. I have been passionate about Urology since late 1st year. Since 4th year is coming up, I've been getting more nervous about matching given my stats and clerkship grades not going my way. I'd like to match to a big city ideally, but would settle for just matching into any Urology program. I am in cahoots with some Urology faculty at my institution and know some faculty other mid-tier programs via research. Please give me an honest evaluation of what you think and any advice you may have for me moving forward. Appreciate it!

Step 1: 239

Clerkship Grades (Clinical grade, Shelf):

IM: NH, P

Neurology: NH, NH

Family Medicine: H, P

Psychiatry: H, NH

Pediatrics: Pending

Surgery: Not completed

OBGYN: Not completed

MSPE Comments: Really positive and specific to my skills. Comment on my humor (lulz) and ability to work with the team. Most comments are not generalized.

Research (authorship, journal):

Published:

1 bench drug delivery paper (3rd, Advanced Therapeutics)

1 Urology case report (1st, journal of endourology CR)

1 Urology paper (4th, Journal of Endourology)

1 Urology paper-Revision phase/basically accepted (2nd, Journal of Endourology)

Submitted/In the works:

2 Urology papers-Submitted (both 1st, Central European Journal of Urology)

1 Urology case series-Submitted (2nd, Journal of Endourology CR)

1 Urology paper-Finished/Awaiting submission (2nd, Journal of Endourology)

1 Urology case series paper finishing up (1st)

Abstracts: 3 (none at AUA)

Presentations: 2 (have a 3rd in the works)

Extracurriculars (LOL): I have had 2 leadership roles in medical school and have received the highest honor of volunteering at our free clinic. I don't think anyone cares though ahah

Members don't see this ad.