UK MPharm student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lichung

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am studying Master of Pharmacy 2nd year in UK. This is a 4-year undergraduate master programme. I have to take a 12-month pre-registration placement after graduation and then sit for a registration exam in order to obtain a Pharmacist Licence in UK. I am interested in working in the US after my graduation and I got the following questions:
1) FPGEE requires 5 years of pharmacy education while my programme last for 4 years only, will I be qualified to sit the exam?
2) Can I summit my FPGEE application before graduation?
3) Can I summit my FPGEE application without having the UK pharmacist licence?
4) Are there any holiday programmes held by pharmacies / universities for foreign pharmacy students like me?

Members don't see this ad.

I am not sure, but I think you cannot sit for the FPGEE unless it is a five year program and you would have to apply to one of the International Pharmacy programs such as at Nova School of Pharmacy in Fort Lauderdale, FL.
http://pharmacy.nova.edu is the link and click on international program.

There are several other programs as well. You can check them out.

I am not sure about the answers to the otehr questions though.

You must be from China but studying in Britain with your screen name! Good luck!

I too am from the UK and am currently in California

To answer your questions.

1) I think you qualify for the FPGEE after your 4 year Uni and 1 year pre-reg hence the 5 years.

2) You can submit your application before but it will not be approved until you get your pharmacist licence so better to wait until you fully qualify

3) I believe the FPGEE if for Foreign Pharmacists so you do have to be registered as a pharmacist before they will approve your application

4) I havent heard of any holiday programs for UK pharmacists.