UCSD Cardiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

traineemd

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a medicine resident in one of the top 5 int med programs. I am interested in Cardiology. However I am in the northeast and would like more info on programs on the west coast (I have to say we on the east coast tend to be quite ignorant about the programs on the west coast). My wife and I have friends in San Diego and loved the city when we visited it last year. I wanted to know the quality and reputation of the UCSD Cardiology program, especially how it compares to other top university programs. Input from west coast folks would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi. I'm an MSIV at UCSD, planning on going into cards, and have done a lot of work in cards here. IMO its an excellent academic program. JACC is/has been based here for several years, and there's some really well known peope (Anthony DeMaria in particular). The fellows here work really hard though, and some are happy with their decision to come here but others definitely are not. In comparison, I'd say UCSD cards is probably better than UCLA, but not as good as UCSF or Stanford.

Myostatin said:
Hi. I'm an MSIV at UCSD, planning on going into cards, and have done a lot of work in cards here. IMO its an excellent academic program. JACC is/has been based here for several years, and there's some really well known peope (Anthony DeMaria in particular). The fellows here work really hard though, and some are happy with their decision to come here but others definitely are not. In comparison, I'd say UCSD cards is probably better than UCLA, but not as good as UCSF or Stanford.