Trying to change careers

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fleursauvage

Michigan State c/o 2024
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I think I am an odd case, because I’m a non-traditional student. I got my bachelor’s degree at 19. I’m now 25, and have been working in finance since graduating. This year will be my first application cycle. I’m interested in seeing if anyone knows of schools that accept stats like mine. I’m definitely applying to UF, as it’s my in-state school, and I’m lucky that they post their yearly demographics, but it seems like a lot of schools don’t do that.

Cumulative GPA: 3.47
science GPA: 3.46
last 45: 3.46

I'm still taking prerequisites, so these don't include the current semester.

Any degrees achieved

B.A. in Art History

GRE results: Taking in June

Veterinary Experience:
-~200 hours large animal
-~150 hours small animal/ shelter (ongoing)

Animal Experience:
-150 hours volunteering at animal shelters/ humane societies

Research Experience:
~50 hours of large animal research
180 hours of plant-based research (ongoing)

Employment:
-
Finance for the past 6 years-full time

Letters of Recommendation:
-Large animal vet
-Shelter vet
-My research professor
-My current boss, the CFO

I’m worried that my GPA will be too low. I can expect to get at least 100 hours more of shelter experience, and probably 200 more of research experience, but that will only put me at 1000 hours, and I know many people apply with way more. I’m looking into getting some wildlife experience, but I won’t be able to fit in hundreds of hours by September. I historically do well on standardized tests, so I’m obviously hoping to do the same with the GRE. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.