Transferring to a "worse" undergrad college

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

letsgetit

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore at Emory University. I have performed OK here so far (3.55 GPA, 3.3 science GPA).

Recently, I have felt that my mental health has been decreasing as the stress of being a pre-med student at a competitive pre-med college such as Emory. Currently I am debating whether to take a leave of absence for one semester to re-group, or to transfer back home to the University of Minnesota, and re-take the required science classes to do better.

Can anyone let me know how transferring to a worse undergrad insitution looks to med schools? How does taking a leave of absence look? Will I have to be explaining either extensively in my interviews/personal statement? Any comments are appreciated, thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think it's a big deal if you transfer. But I also don't think taking a semester off will help much (though obviously I don't know exactly what you're going through). I took a semester off for reasons unrelated to yours, and if anything it has made this semester harder. If you do take a semester off, you should probably use that time to improve your application in other ways, e.g. volunteering and clinical experience.

UMinnesota is no Emory, but it's definitely not a bad school in itself.

Put your mental health first, that's an issue that takes precedent over the prestige of your undergrad.

Members don't see this ad :)
If you don't apply to a top tier medical school, it won't make a difference where you completed your college degree. I left NYU undergraduate with a 2.5 GPA, went to a local city college and got a 3.3 GPA there and was accepted back into NYU Dental school this year with a 2.69 GPA. I don't know if there is any carry over from dental admissions to medical admissions, but you have this as a reference point.