top mstp programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MilesDavisTheDoctor

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is there a generally accepted view of what the top mstp programs are? I'm a regular MD student who doesn't really know much about how to evaluate mstp programs. Are the "top 20" or so MD and mstp programs pretty much the same? Ie are Harvard, Hopkins, Penn, NYU etc... considered T10 programs?

Members don't see this ad.

Why do you want to "evaluate" MSTP programs?

But in answer to your question, I'll just go with a "general" yes. If you want to split hairs (e.g. say school X is ranked #7 for MD but should be #4 for MSTP), I don't think it's a very useful exercise.

Gee I'd flag NYU as an outlier. They had always been a mid ranked school with a more limited research capacity and less federal funding than the other schools listed by the OP, which are research behemoths.

After NYU waived tuition for their med school two years ago, they shot to the top of the selectivity pile for straight MD. So their MD students are now much stronger. But that didn't suddenly change their research capacity, and MSTP was always free so less of a draw for that applicant subgroup.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Isn't NYUs research funding like #11 or so and like #3 for NIH funding/(# of faculty)? It was my understanding that over the last 10 years their research capacity had increased dramatically.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Isn't NYUs research funding like #11 or so and like #3 for NIH funding/(# of faculty)? It was my understanding that over the last 10 years their research capacity had increased dramatically.