to anyone,dr cuts jim...any img radio guy!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smrad

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi ,
i am an img from india ..
doing residency in radiology..this is a three year course...at presently i am in second year...planning to come over post rsidebcy in india..
have score of 240 in step 1...planning to give step 2 in three months time..its very hectic to take time out from deptt duies..working on a research topic in MR..will have few lor's from radio prof"s out here(know it doesnt count much over in US..but better than nothing..),no publication as yet..some presentaions sure at national level conferences...
i checked out the discussion forum in auntminnie ..maan it sure seems tough to get a res in radio thes days..
frankly guys do i stand a chance..???
any feedback is welcome..
ps-hey cuts u can give a first hand info maan..wouyld appreciate a lot
take care

Members don't see this ad.

Well right now I'm pretty much in the same boat as you... doing whatever I can to match Rads, but uncertain of what the future holds. That said, I can offer my opinion...

It seems like you're doing all the right things right now. Your Step 1 score is competitive, but definitely try to score even higher on Step 2 (250+)--it can only help. The fact that you'll have already completed a Rads residency from India may or may not make a difference. I ran into a guy on my LSU-Shreveport interview who's situation was the same as your's... IMG from India, already completed a Rads residency there. He seemed bright, but I couldn't help but notice something about him... the guy never smiled. The whole time there, he was totally serious with a poker face... not at all personable to the PD or the other interviewers. Now I'm no expert, but if you were the PD, would you wanna rank a guy like that high? Is that the type of person you'd wanna work with for 4 years?