Those of you with Stellar PCAT Scores...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blueclassring

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How did you study? HOw long did you prepare for?

Members don't see this ad.

98th percentile - Nov. 2004

Having not seen a lot of the material for at least 5 years, I studied for about a month using the Kaplan review book. There is an on-line supplement for calculus. The supplement only covers integrals and derivatives. On my exam, there were a few questions on vectors and limits so review that info. I took the Kaplan practice exams as well as the one's in the Barrons which helped with getting used to the time restraints. I also borrowed a friend's MCAT materials to review orgo.
However, I feel that I could not have studied at all and done almost as well. A lot of the questions, I felt you simply had to reason through. If you have a solid background in sciences you should do fine.
Good luck!!

I used the Kaplan review book and I also used these audio osmosis CDs that a pre-med friend gave me. The Kaplan book was really helpful and helped me brush up on details I hadn't seen in a while. I also really liked the CDs because I had a 45 minute commute several times per week. The CDs really gave me something productive to do instead of just worry about the PCAT the whole time I was driving. I ended up in the 97th percentile after all that.

Good luck!

99th Oct 2004

I only studied for four hours with the Kaplan book (just the biology portion). I had intended to take the October test as practice since my school only looks at your highest score. I'm not going to bother retaking it.

I would like to say that I agree with the previous poster who said that someone with a good scientific background can reason through most of the questions. That described my PCAT experience perfectly.

Members don't see this ad :)
99th Nov 03 (before the change)