Temple BCHS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Simp4MedSk00l

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I wanted to apply to Temple BCHS program for Summer 2020. I took Gen Bio with Lab twice in undergrad - did poorly. I took Gen Chem twice in undergrad - did poorly. I took physics once in undergrad - did poorly. This was almost 2 years ago. I have EXTENSIVE clinical experience and could probably get stellar rec letters from MD + DO. Since i graduated, I took 2 basic science courses and got A's in both of them, so I could get rec letters from them as well. I plan to take my GRE this coming October to prove that I'm still capable of doing well on standardized tests and have good study habits. My concern is that my horrific won't even let me be considered for the program. Any idea of how difficult it is to get into the program or if I should just not bother applying?

Members don't see this ad.

The only way to know if you qualify is to talk to the admissions team. Generally speaking, these career-changer post-bacc programs are for people who have not taken the science pre-reqs, or taken very few of them.

From the FAQ on the Temple BCHS page:
If I have already have taken some of the prerequisite courses offered in the Basic Core track, can I still apply?
It depends on multiple variables, such as how many courses you have taken, when you took the course(s), what grade(s) you received. Once you apply, we will review your entire portfolio to make a decision.

I would email them to see if you would be qualified for the program.

I've been in contact with them, and they're very encouraging that I should apply. However, they haven't really taken a look at my transcript to see exactly how bad it might be and I feel encouraging me to apply means they still get the application fee.

Members don't see this ad :)