Teacher in need of help - Post bacc or Community college

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LALAlandDOC

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new here, and I have become increasingly more discouraged to pursue medical school. Regardless, I still want to try to get in somewhere. I am currently a high school biology teacher and seeking advice on my next steps. I will probably teach for another year then either apply to a post bacc or med school.

For undergrad, I went to UCSD sGPA 2.82 cGPA 3.08 but I am a texas resident (I teach in NY - haven't changed any paper work/parents still live in texas). I am also pursuing a masters in urban adolescent education - chemistry (1 year left). I haven't taken some science classes (biochem, anatomy and physio, genetics, or cell biology). I was wondering if I should try to take these classes at a community college or wait to do a post bacc after I finish my masters?

Members don't see this ad.

The good news is that there are a number of science classes that you can take that will contribute to your science GPA. Any undergraduate coursework taken after college graduation is, technically, "post-bac". It is just a matter of whether you go into a formal post-bac program with a pre-med advisor and connections to the usual extra-curricular activities or if you DIY with classes at a community college. Either is fine and you may find that with this forum (and check out the non-traditional forum, too) you won't really need a formal program with an advisor.

That said, take a few preliminary steps before launching into classes: