USMLE Stressed while waiting for Step 2 CS. If I fail, is there any time to retake it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ophthoapplicant17

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
edit: I am a fourth-year US MD student.
Hey all, I've been freaking out about the ophtho match until 1 week ago when I found out that I matched. Now I'm freaking out about Step 2 CS that I took mid-late December 2017. I will be receiving my report between 1/31/18 and 2/21/18, hopefully earlier so I can rank the intern programs that require passage of Step 2 CS.

For preparation, I read the Step 2 CS book back to back and practiced 10 of the cases. However, I made mistakes on Step 2 CS as many do, including but not limited to running out of time in 2 encounters, missing a major ddx in a case, and forgetting to do a relevant physical exam in a case.

Although I want to believe that I passed given the statistics, what happens if I didn't? The earliest testing period I can schedule CS is 1/28-3/24, and I don't know if any dates will be available in that period if and when I find out I failed. The reporting schedule for that period is 4/25-5/23, very close to the start of intern year.

Has anyone had the experience or know somebody who failed a late Step 2 CS (results in Jan-Feb) as a fourth-year student and still managed to start intern/residency on time? I am so scared of not being able to start my ophtho residency because matching was an uphill battle for me.

Members don't see this ad.

Intern year won't start until June. If you get your passing score by 5/23 (though you'd most likely get it on 4/25) you will obviously have passed before intern year.

Pass that hurdle if you get there. You most likely passed CS and all this worrying would be for nothing. And really, you can't change anything now. Congrats on matching, I suggest finding something else to occupy your mind until your score comes out.

Reactions: 1 user