Sophomore needs advice on PA preparedness/competitiveness

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MMBHeartsPeds

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a sophomore in college studying biology and I am looking for advice on being prepared and competitive for PA programs. I would like to attend PA school right after graduation. I believe this means that I would apply during my junior year-- is that correct?

My college is pretty well known for its science and healthcare programs, and our PA program is the one I am by far most interested in pursuing. My school's particular PA program does not technically "require" patient care experience, but the most recent cohort had a median of 1031 patient care hours, so obviously they are needed to be competitive.
Since I am aware that patient care hours are needed, I am currently working as a ophthalmic patient tech. This involves direct, hands-on patient care.

My overall GPA is a 3.59. I am a biology major and last semester organic chem 1 killed me with a C... I am planning to take organic 2 at a community college to fulfill my major requirements and get a better grade. I'm not sure whether it is worth stating that organic chem is not a pre-requisite for my school's PA program, it is just a major requirement for me. I know my GPA is not stellar and I am doing everything in my power to make sure it improves this semester and in subsequent ones.

I currently have 51 hours of shadowing doctors (over 40 of them primary care, if that matters). I have yet to shadow a PA but am currently finding a way to do that.
I have lots of volunteer experience with the Girl Scouts of my region, and by the end of this summer I should have well over 200 hours of volunteer experience. While this is not healthcare related, our PA program website does not indicate that volunteer experience must be medical. To be sure, I have sent an email to admissions asking for clarification.