Some CV questions...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrVanNostran

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am trying to update my CV to send out to potential mentors at my residency program. I had a few questions...

1. I recently submitted an abstract which was accepted as an oral and poster. It was also published in a journal along with all the accepted the posters for the conference. Can I add this to my publications?

2. As a med student, I did an away at MDACC in the Radiation Oncology department. At the end of our rotation, we do a formal presentation on a topic of our choice. Does something like this qualify as an oral presentation? Or is that reserved for posters, research projects, etc?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I am trying to update my CV to send out to potential mentors at my residency program. I had a few questions...

1. I recently submitted an abstract which was accepted as an oral and poster. It was also published in a journal along with all the accepted the posters for the conference. Can I add this to my publications?
Yes, absolutely.

2. As a med student, I did an away at MDACC in the Radiation Oncology department. At the end of our rotation, we do a formal presentation on a topic of our choice. Does something like this qualify as an oral presentation? Or is that reserved for posters, research projects, etc?

Thanks!

It it was a Grand Rounds type of presentation, then yes, that's a legit oral presentation.

Thanks for the reply. Its good to know that hour of sweating bullets will go my CV!

Members don't see this ad :)

Its not a peer-reviewed publication. It's an abstract. You need to have separate sections in your CV for:

• Abstracts
  • Presentations (Oral / Posters)
  • Peer-Reviewed Publications
  • Other Publications

It would be misrepresentation to list it as a publication without clearly denoting it as an abstract.