MD Should non-physicians use the Dr. title?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

genessis42

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have started to notice this on some rotations. I know there are different providers such as NP, PA, CRNA, etc. that can have doctorate degrees, but wouldn't that be misleading? They're different from physicians, even in primary fields.

Am I out of line for thinking this as a student?

Members don't see this ad.

No, it's deceiving to patients. They aren't doctors and never will be no matter how many online degrees they earn. I'm also a student and I don't feel out of line saying this at all.

• Love
Reactions: 9 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Boy oh boy can’t wait to see your world rocked once you hit the floors. Most mid levels are already doing this with impunity and if you speak up about it trust me you’ll be labeled and possibly fired. Most in house consult services are APN driven the MDs dont even bother to co-sign anymore. Inpatient medicine used to be a serious business now it’s an even bigger joke than outpatient medicine with the parade of alphabet soup degrees they give to mid levels.

• Sad
Reactions: 5 users
Short answer: No

Long answer: See above post. It's an absolute s***show. Run far away from medicine. Become a malpractice lawyer. You'll thank me later.

• Sad
Reactions: 2 users
Should they? Absolutely not. Will they? Absolutely. Their leadership is shameless but effective at lobbying. I suspect there will continue to be a gradual shift in their favor. The fact that even 'naturopaths' can call themselves "doctors" with their sham degrees is an extreme example of how far our profession has fallen. "But my other doctor said that..."

• Sad
Reactions: 7 users
I am starting to think that physicians do a bad job at lobbying when it comes to protecting their field.

• Sad
HI sir I am Your DOctor of Philosophy. What brings you in today?