Should I transfer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Opethfan

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non trad pre-med student of Mexican descent. I am currently attending a public university with a reputation that is not very good. I can't help but feel that some of this is due to racist views some people have about schools which are predominantly attended by minority groups. I chose to attend this school because it is close to home and the availability of night classes. I work full time so if it weren't for those night classes I would have to postpone school even longer.

Some recent news I received has raised some concerns for me. A classmate of mine told me that the avg MCAT from our school is not so great and that as far as she knows no one has scored above a 28. I've thought about transferring but that would mean graduating at least one year later. I currently shoud graduate in 2009.

How concerned should I be about this? I spoke to my organic chem teacher and he told me that as long as I kick butt on the MCAT no one will care where I did my undergrad. He also told me that in the last year he knows of three students who have been accepted to medical school. Three is not many but on avg only 6-8 apply each year. I would like to stay as long as it doesn't significantly impact my chances of getting accepted somewhere. The teachers and advisors are very encouraging and seem sincere about trying to increase the success of the pre-med program. As I mentioned before I'm a non trad student ( just turned 30) as well as Mexican, so I already have my work cut out for me. My fear is that the school's
reputation might be another obstacle to overcome.

Members don't see this ad.