Should I prioritize upper level bio courses over pre-reqs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peachkid

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new here and my first time posting :) I tried searching for the same question from past posts but couldn't find anything similar.
I'm a non traditional student and have several years of work experience (unrelated to veterinary) and I'm currently doing a DIY post bacc.

I've read that vet schools like seeing several upper-level biology classes on your transcript, beyond the pre-reqs, and are looking for your ability to manage a rigorous course schedule. With that said, should I prioritize taking upper-level bio courses such as Histology or Immunology before trying to cross off all the prereqs? I have several prereqs left (orgo, physics 1 &2, biochem).

For instance, I can prioritize taking upper level biology courses now and take Physics 1 & 2 in the Fall / Spring semesters after I apply. This is just my guess, but I'm thinking adcoms put more weight to upper level bio classes than Physics 1&2?

On a related note, do most students have multiple upper level bio courses completed before they apply to vet school, or are you OK with simply completing the pre-reqs?

Members don't see this ad.

With that said, should I prioritize taking upper-level bio courses such as Histology or Immunology before trying to cross off all the prereqs? I have several prereqs left (orgo, physics 1 &2, biochem).
A lot of this will depend on the rest of your application and your school application list tbh. Upper level bios are recommended in particular for those that did poorly in the prerequisites and need a GPA boost.

Different schools allow for different numbers of outstanding credits. At my undergraduate, those 4 classes would have been 18 outstanding credits, which I think was 2 credits more than allowed to be outstanding when I was applying.