This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Asa3300

Reaction score
I don't know if medicine/healthcare is right for me anymore. I'm a second year podiatry student (23F) and I feel very burnout/unmotivated. I feel as though I'm forcing myself to do this because this is what I've been working towards my whole life. I don't feel like I'm staying for the right reasons anymore. Everyone is telling me that every med student goes through this and that it will get better 3rd year (not bc of the hours but because it'll be more gratifying). However, I'm not sure if that feeling of gratification outweighs all the work and sacrifice that gets put into this. I feel as though I'm hanging on by a thread every semester trying to do well in my classes. I'm always tired, my mental health is in shambles, I barely get to see family/friends, and I'm making all these sacrifices not knowing if this is something that I will dread every single day. I am conflicted though because I can't tell if I want to quit podiatry school because I'm blinded by being burntout/stressed or because I genuinely don't want this career. I do have to say, it's not a completely black/white situation because I do enjoy learning the material and there are parts that I like about it, but thinking about the stress of the next 5 years and the uncertainty of whether I'll be happy with this job afterwards makes me anxious.