Should I go for perio or OMFS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

periowannabe2

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,
I don't want to start a perio versus OMFS thread, but I've been debating whether to go into perio or OMFS for awhile now.

A little background: I graduated from dental school in 2004 and recently finished a GPR in NY State. I decided to do a GPR because I couldn't decide what to do after graduation, and more clinical experience seemed to fit me well.

My Stats:

NBDE Part 1: 95, Part 2: 90
Class Rank: 10/100
GPA: 3.7

Here's my dilemma - I've been exposed to tons of OMFS during my GPS (we spend 2 months on the OMFS service) and also did some perio work and, to be honest, I've loved them both. I'd like to hear from both perio and OMFS residents regarding whether they had similar difficulties making a choice between these two related specialties and why they chose their respective field.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

If I were you and liked each specialty equally I'd do perio because it's half the time in residency and half the hours per week while in residency. However, I hate scaling and thus could never do perio.

Yeah, as much as omfs residents on this forum hate to hear it, it is a tough choice. There are things that I don't like in each field (yes, sc/rp is one of them) but overall perio is more focused on what I do like. I wavered for ~3 years and finally settled on perio.