Should I do a post-bacc? Need advice applying after graduating at 2020

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

johntera555

Reaction score
Hello all!

I need help with my direction of where I should go. I got my B.S. of Biology in 2020 and since then I've been working mostly. My GPA was 3.1 scientific, 3.2 overall. I was in the pre-dental clubs, did volunteering, shadowing, was a peer mentor, did research in undergrad. But since I graduated, all I've done was tutor, then worked front desk + dental assistant, and then became full time dental assistant currently. I have probably over 2000+ hours working in the dental field and getting paid, but here is my issue:

I only have a letter of rec from my current practicing dentist. I have no professors I am really close to. In my head, I can think of my research professor, but I haven't talked to him in years since research, and a biochemistry professor that I liked, but she probably doesn't even know me.

I have yet to take the DAT, and I plan on taking it this Feb. But this is if I plan to apply for this cycle. If I were to take the post-bacc route, I would wait to take the DAT. My question that I have is if I should take a post-bacc to increase my GPA, or try to take hit the DAT out of the park and cold-email my professors for a generic letter of rec. What would you do in my position? Any help/input is greatly appreciated, thank you all and stay safe.

Members don't see this ad.

Even though your gpa is barely below average, having a bio major helps because it shows you took a lot of heavy science classes etc etc. Reach out to every single professor (doesn't hurt) and tell them you're doing dentistry and blah blah im sure some will say yes. But this all comes down to your DAT score. You score a 23 plus you won't need anything imo if you apply to reasonable schools and 15 schools total.

Reactions: 1 user