Schools with Mandatory Attendance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medical Bear

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I will be applying this cycle and wondered which pod schools have mandatory attendence. Specifically, do Azpod, Barry, and Western require it?

Members don't see this ad.

Not sure about those, but I am a first year student at Scholl, and generally in your first year at least, classes are not mandatory to attend. All first year lectures are recorded with screen capture as well as voice. Generally, they have a compilation of recordings from previous years as well, so if in the chance the professor forgets to press the record button (happens a lot unfortunately), they can upload a previous year's recording of that lecture. Most of the material stays the same so it is generally the same exact lecture by the same exact professor as well.

There are a few classes that are mandatory to go to such as anatomy lab and any physiology workshops. Also, the clinical reasoning class we take with the MD students has a handful of required lectures and workshops/labs we have to attend every month. Besides those, most lectures are not required to attend at Scholl, and that has been very beneficial for me. It is definitely easier for me to wake up a little later in the day (around 11am) and than start my study routine than with watching lectures/studying myself.

I know NYCPM is one of the schools that makes it mandatory to attend ALL lectures, which is why I decided to not go there (I am from NYC).

Reactions: 1 user
I know NYCPM is one of the schools that makes it mandatory to attend ALL lectures, which is why I decided to not go there (I am from NYC).
I believe you have to attend 70% of lectures at NYCPM, not all

Members don't see this ad :)
I believe you have to attend 70% of lectures at NYCPM, not all