School list help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TwinkieChi

Reaction score
Hi! I am new to SDN and I have been having trouble deciding which schools to apply to. I am an out of state applicant for all vet schools and the low statistics of how many seats are typically given to out of state students is freaking me out. I want to apply to schools that I will have the best shot of getting into as being an out of state student. I was wondering if anyone has any knowledge about how schools offer acceptances. More specifically, which schools will look at my application and see a lot of value in being an underrepresented minority, being bilingual (I translate for vets to clients), and being a first generation college student. I'm a 20 year old female graduating next fall with a B.S. in Veterinary Science.

My GPA is high (3.89 cumulative at the end of this semester if I can do well in my physics class), I have worked in small animal veterinary hospitals (3 different ones) since graduating high school (1000+ hours), I have 100 hours of equine veterinary experience and a small amount of cow research experience, and my extracurriculars include being in my university's honors program, TRiO program for first-gen students, being a student ambassador for my college (with an executive board position), being in my school's pre-vet club, an internship at the Boys and Girl's club, volunteering at animal shelters, and my current research for my honors thesis.