Resident in one state, wish to practice in another. Need some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Windom Earle

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a resident currently PGY-2 in NJ who will be graduating in July 2025 if all goes well.

So in NJ I did not have to take Part 3 of my APMLE, but since I wish to work in Pennsylvania I will need it. So that's one matter to take care of. Is there anything else I would have to do in order to "transfer" from state to state?

If anyone has done this before or has any guidance please let me know thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You need a license in the state you want to practice. If you know you want to practice in Pennsylvania for sure then you need to look up how many years of residency training they require for licensure (Usually one. Sometimes two. Sometimes zero). Then see what other tests they require (jurisprudence exam, etc).

Reactions: 1 user
You just have to finish part 3 by the end of residency, and then apply for whatever state’s license you are seeking. Some states are kinda slow on processing apps, so do it in early year of the year you are set to graduate for residency.

As Southpod said, some stages require jurisprudence tests. You can find each states licensure board website and see what they require you send, etc.

One last pointer— send your paperwork certified mail. Texas “never received” my first application and I had to resubmit it. It delayed me a few weeks of waiting around.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I am a resident currently PGY-2 in NJ who will be graduating in July 2025 if all goes well.

So in NJ I did not have to take Part 3 of my APMLE, but since I wish to work in Pennsylvania I will need it. So that's one matter to take care of. Is there anything else I would have to do in order to "transfer" from state to state?