Residency; 4 years of hell???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Entity

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im a pre-med student looking to become a radiologist. My mother is a technician in the field, she tells me that the residency for a radiologist is brutal, Im talkin' like 16+ hour shifts up to 6 days a week..........could anyone clarify for me exactly what a residency consists of and if indeed it is 4 years of hardship.

Members don't see this ad.

Residencies are as varied as, well, doctors - the one thing in common, though, invariably, is the first, or intern, year is hard (and why people look for "cush" positions). In some fields, the years that follow become markedly easier to tolerate, whereas in others (like a lot of surgery), it's a lot of time, all the way through.

16 hours a day, 6 days a week - 96 hours regularly? Maybe in the old days. Now, in New York State, that is verboten, and, soon, it will be nationwide.

"Brutal" is subjective...but most would admit that q2 call (24 hours on, 24 hours off) is truly demonic (I mention that because a radiology resident I know said that he did preliminary surgery at the University of Virginia, they did q2 call - don't know for how long, though).

Radiology? Brutal? I swear I never thought those two words would ever be used in the same sentence. I think I'm going to print out this page and show all my friends. :laugh:

Seriously, radiology residencies are pretty easy so I hear. Despite common myth, they do take lots of overnight call though.

Part of the fun is the journey getting there. So if you're unhappy being in the hospital a lot doing radiology, then you're probably going to be unhappy as an attending radiologist. Choose a field that you will love doing so much that you don't care if you're in the hospital 16 hours in a day.

:cool:

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hmmm...