Quoted: Sick in school

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For SDN membership to respond to.

Hi all. I realize that you probably can't answer this definitively for me but I'd appreciate your opinions and/or suggestions.

In January last year I was diagnosed with a glioblastoma after a few simple partial seizures. The tumor's in my left insula, is pretty big, and we've decided not to resect because the area of my brain is definitely eloquent. I'm young, neurologically intact, and the seizures are under control. All those things help my prognosis significantly, but it's still pretty dismal.

When I was diagnosed, I was a second year medical student (25 y/o) and had passed all of my classes first semester that year. The last seven months, I had to take off for radiation and chemo. Thus, I'll have to take second year over again, auditing first semester. Second semester, I'll take for real. Clearly I've grown close to my physicians, who are also my professors, and both they and the school have been phenominally supportive of me.

I have a couple of questions/thoughts to which you can respond. First, I still am on chemo for the forseeable future, which I take in 4 week cycles. Everytime I take it I am more exhausted than usual for at least 2 weeks. That's half of my time I'm worthless. Auditing these classes that isn't a big deal, but I'm pretty worried about next semester... boards... clerkships... and on and on. I'm worried that me out half the time will affect my preparedness for being a physician.