Quoted: Getting another residency

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a prelim surgery resident at a semi-academic program. I am worried about having a job next year. I applied last year to competitive fields and did not match. I applied this year and still have 3 interviews in an extremely competitive field, but doubt that I will match. My step scores were both around 190 and I failed the first attempt on Step 2. I will get my Step 3 results soon. My resident evals have been below average and I don't know how much support I will get from my pd for another residency. I work and study my butt off, but I look stupid when I am pimped b/c I usually have no idea what my attending wants me to answer. I overanalyze everything and don't know how I can get the cycle to stop.

I don't know what my options are right now, I am still working my butt off, but I feel it is to no avail since I am with the same senior resident that I have recieved bad evals in a few prior rotations. I teach the med students everything I know, I get to work an hour earlier than the rest of the interns and usually see more patients than they do and I go to clinic unlike the other interns who never show up, but I know they still get better evals than I do. Do my seniors or PD know this, NO? Will I start to slack off more, NO, I don't know how because I have always had a strong work ethic. Sometimes

I wonder if family medicine is the only residency that might take me. After being a surgery resident it is hard to go to fam med or med, but i would at least like to do em, anes or rad instead of primary care. Any advice. I am more worried about whther my step 3 results are poor and my in training exam results are too. I feel like fam med may be my only route.