Quoted:Diabetes and surgical career

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
An entering medical student asks:

I am a student at ......, and really interested in surgery, partially due to my previous surgeries. Unfortunately, I was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes mellitus. I am currently using pump therapy with the Continuous Real-Time glucose monitoring system, and rarely ever have complications.

I know that I will be able to handle the rigors of a career in surgery, due to the fact that I am extremely healthy, aside from the diabetes.

When applying for a surgical residency, will anyone discriminate me for having diabetes? I know that it would be illegal, but could it still happen? Also, do I need to even tell anyone that I am Diabetic? My disease will not jeopardize my patients, especially with my current treatment, so should I worry about this?

Thanks for your advice.

Members don't see this ad.

One of the attendings at my program has diabetes (the reason I know is because he mentioned it one time when we were talking about the importance of food). Evidently it is possible to be an attending surgeon with diabetes. It may be difficult during training if things become hard to control (weird meal times, lack of sleep, bad cafeteria food-may make a difference, you probably know your body best though). There should be a way to make it work. As far as whether you might be hurt by letting anyone know, I don't think it would even need to come up (as long as you don't think you will need special accomodations).