Questions about WICHE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anirose24

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I’m an AZ resident desperate for IS tuition, and am trying for WICHE status at Midwestern, as well as Oregon, Colorado, and Washington state schools. While I believe I am a strong applicant, I’d love to hear people’s views on how realistic WICHE status might be, as well as thoughts on having to stay in your home state for 4 years after graduation. I am planning to specialize and am wondering if WICHE might prevent me from traveling for opportunities after I graduate. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I am planning to specialize and am wondering if WICHE might prevent me from traveling for opportunities after I graduate.
IIRC they allow you to postpone your 4 years if you’re specializing. I’m not from a WICHE state, but I believe I’ve seen people on here say that.

But if you can reduce your debt by half by getting WICHE funding, why would you not work in your home state for four years? WSU even preferences WICHE state students for their OOS seats even if they’re not applying for or getting funding, which means you’d still be eligible for IS tuition after the first year.

Reactions: 2 users
Hi all, I’m an AZ resident desperate for IS tuition, and am trying for WICHE status at Midwestern, as well as Oregon, Colorado, and Washington state schools. While I believe I am a strong applicant, I’d love to hear people’s views on how realistic WICHE status might be, as well as thoughts on having to stay in your home state for 4 years after graduation. I am planning to specialize and am wondering if WICHE might prevent me from traveling for opportunities after I graduate. Thanks!