Medical Questions about viability & moving forward, underrepresented in medicine, standing out, and MCAT testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Viability & Moving Forward: My freshman year was less than stellar. I finished with a 3.16 cGPA 2.88 sGPA. My sophomore year, I changed everything in my life, pretty much, and turned everything around. I've gotten a 4.0 the past two semesters, and I now have a 3.23 sGPA, 3.54 cGPA. How does this affect my viability. My plan is to continue to get 4.0s until I graduate.

Details about me:
I am a Psychology major, Chinese minor. I have no clinical experience. I have shadowed 8 hours Cardiology, 4 hours EM. I am a Crisis Text Line Counselor -- done 14 hours so far. Currently planning to do 8 hours a week over the summer. I was an Electrician and carpenter for my theatre (leadership & teaching position) during my freshman year, working about 600 hours. I am a Research Assistant for a psychology lab and have worked for approximately 52 hours since October 2019, no publications. I am a member of my Chinese club and have been attending meetings every two weeks since fall 2019 up until coronavirus. I have been taking Chinese for 6 years and I'm semi-fluent. I'll be doing research as part of a 10-week competitive program over the summer.

That means my summer plans are:
  • Crisis Counseling 8 hours a week
  • Mentored Research
  • Studying for Molecular Biology and Organic Chemistry next semester
I want to incorporate as much as I can to make me a more viable candidate, but I'm unsure how to go about getting clinical experience. Do you all have recommendations for more things to do? Should i even be currently worried about it? Should I be doing more than 8 hours of crisis counseling weekly?

Underrepresented in medicine: