Questions about CA pharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

supersomebody

Reaction score
I'm new to this board and I'm a prepharm student in California. Seems for whatever reason people mention CA as an exception to a bunch of stuff. Something about unions? What's going on there?

Also, are the prospects in SoCal near LA as doom and gloom as this board makes pharm out to be?

Last thing I want to ask is about whether or not residency would be worth it in my state. Seems like a lot of people are having a hard time getting consistent hours and schedules. Is that a retail problem? If I work in a hospital setting or something more specialized, will I find more 9-5 type stuff? Would the pay be lower than retail?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm new to this board and I'm a prepharm student in California. Seems for whatever reason people mention CA as an exception to a bunch of stuff. Something about unions? What's going on there?

Also, are the prospects in SoCal near LA as doom and gloom as this board makes pharm out to be?

Last thing I want to ask is about whether or not residency would be worth it in my state. Seems like a lot of people are having a hard time getting consistent hours and schedules. Is that a retail problem? If I work in a hospital setting or something more specialized, will I find more 9-5 type stuff? Would the pay be lower than retail?
You’re in a position that all of us envy: young, malleable and most importantly NOT committed to pharmacy school yet. Do NOT apply to pharmacy school, you will thank all of us down the road.

You’re in a position that all of us envy: young, malleable and most importantly NOT committed to pharmacy school yet. Do NOT apply to pharmacy school, you will thank all of us down the road.

Why? Also do you have any input regarding my specific situation? Have you struggled in the field after graduating?

Members don't see this ad :)