Question About Rad Onc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SunnyS81

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting in the Rad Onc forum, although I've been reading all the posts for a few months.

Although I'm just an M1, I was interested in considering a career in radiation oncology if possible, however, I'm confused/concerned/worried about a few things, and I was hoping someone could answer my questions.

1) Why is it that some programs don't accept people for residency certain years? Someone posted that UNC didn't accept anyone last year I think, and I don't think Michigan accepted anyone this year either.

2) People have posted the number of a patients a person can expect to see over the course of the year on various threads for different programs. I understand that someone said you don't want to see too many patients because there is a lot of reading that you need to do during residency also. However, after you finish your residency, how busy do you think rad onc's are? Somone posted that Downstate has hospitals with 300 patients annually, which if you're the only rad onc in the hospital means that you see maybe 2 patients a day. Am I really off in my logic?

3) Why is it that Rad Onc is so competitive to go into. I think I know why derm, ortho, and the like are competitive, but I wasn't sure about rad onc.

I think that's all. I appreciate all responses. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Sunny --

I'm currently an M4 in the application process, and I know there are a number of Rad Onc residents on here with much more knowledge than my two rotations have afforded me. However, I'm just sitting here watching football, so here goes...

1) Why is it that some programs don't accept people for residency certain years? Someone posted that UNC didn't accept anyone last year I think, and I don't think Michigan accepted anyone this year either.