Psychiatrist Working With a Psychologist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DukeDevils9192

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was curious if there were any private practices out there which consisted of a psychiatrist and a psychologist who work with some of the same patients and refer each other to those patients depending on what they need (perhaps a depressed person needs medication and extensive therapy). Would this be considered a good business move for the two doctors?

Members don't see this ad.

Well, I'm no expert, but from what I know there are many such practices out there. The ones I have seen usually have one psychiatrist and 2-3 psychologists/therapists/social workers performing therapy. They refer patients to each other and sometimes work within the same office structure. They may also keep a psychologist on who does psychological testing.

"Would this be considered a good business move for the two doctors?"
First of all, a psychologist is not a medical doctor-he or she might be a PhD(no offence meant)
Traditionally, psychiatry works in a group model-psychaitrist is seen as a coordinator and/or team leader between different mental health professionals- SW/psychologist/MHN/various therapist. So interaction/cooperation is a must, particulary so in child psych.
However referral does not work out that way-depends on third-party paying/level of expertise etc. Sometimes, field of expertise(e.g. neuropsych) limits referral.
Hope this helps.:)

Members don't see this ad :)
People with PhDs are referred to as "Dr." Get off your high horse, dude.