PSTP Heme-Onc fast-track vs Categorical IM and Combined IM programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2KOTN

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a 4th year MD/PhD student who has a PhD in Bioengineering, though more specifically in Computational Biology and Cancer Genetics. I applied pretty broadly to IM-PSTP fast-track programs, Categorical IM, IM/Genetics and Med/Peds. I think my ideal practice at the moment is to go into Cancer Genetics both in clinic, specializing in patients with a genetic cause of cancer in both treatment and prevention. I also want to participate in Bioinformatics research in the future looking at the genetic origins of cancer.

I think the big problem for me is ranking fast-track programs relative to categorical or IM/Genetics or Med/Peds. I have:

4 PSTP
5 Categorical IM
1 IM/Genetics
6 Med/Peds

Of course, outside my PSTP interviews, my endgame is to apply Oncology with or without Heme.

As far as my initial thoughts go, I do enjoy the protected research time and love medical research, but I also am not sure I'd be happy with only 20% clinic and I'm not sure 2-years of IM is enough training. I could do categorical IM, but my scores are kind of trash (200-210 range STEP 1), so I am worried about re-entering the fellowship match and its competitiveness. I think IM/Genetics or Med/Peds are excellent clinical choices because I love the patient population, but I'm not sure its going to be overkill as far as clinic training.

I'd love to hear any thoughts about ranking. Is PSTP enough clinical training? Will I likely match into Heme-Onc with a categorical residency? What advantage if any would a Medical Geneticist-Oncologist bring to the table? And What advantage if any would a Med-Peds Oncologist bring to the table?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user