Prospective medical student seeking advice (changing career to medicine)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kaion

Reaction score
Hi all,

Not sure if this is the right place to post but it would be greatly appreciated if someone can offer some advice.

I graduated from college almost 3 years ago and have been working since then. I am approaching 26 soon and medicine is a direct entry degree for high school graduate back in my country so I am relatively late compared to my peers.

I am considering a switch as a career in medicine is more stable and also because I was diagnosed of some health issues (and situation would have been much better if I had the knowledge to figure it out myself earlier). Basically, I want to learn something that is more useful to myself and meaningful.

I understand medicine is quite intense and I want to make sure I am well prepared / suited for it given it is a multi year commitment that resets my career.

Is there a way to test myself or giving me a sense of studying medicine? It has been a long time since I last take a course in chemistry and I have never taken biology before.

I am thinking of giving myself 1-2 years time and start taking some online courses in basic chemistry/biology/anatomy/neuroscience (edX/Saylor Academy/etc.) and volunteer for some shadowing experiences to get a sense of it in the meantime. Would that be enough?

I am afraid medicine is way more intense than that so I want to make sure I can handle the intellectual rigor. Is there any other suggestion? I know that people often recommend incoming MS1 not to study ahead but I guess my situation could be quite different as the opportunity cost is high and it is better to make sure I am committed and able.

Sorry for the long thread but thank you so much for your help!

Members don't see this ad.