General Professor getting cold feet about a letter of rec?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Question

Member Question
Volunteer Staff
Reaction score
Hello, I wanted some advice from experts. I am thinking about posting on the main subs as well to get some advice from peers but I don't exactly want to ask my advisor or other professors this question: what do I do if a professor I am close to and made a letter of rec for me is suddenly getting cold feet? Basically, I have had a really great relationship with this professor, did research with him, presented at conferences, but I wasn't able to publish my work by the time I graduated. I was even offered to be a mentor for his classes twice (including an upper level one)! It didn't happen because my schedule never lined up. I thought I had a really good relationship with this prof, and he wrote me a letter of rec for another project and I specifically asked if he would write a med school rec and he was happy to. We even met about it! Well now I'm under the assumption he never wrote it, and I am emailing him about my committee letter and my personal letter. He is only answering questions about my committee letter and absolutely none about the letter he agreed to write for med school. What should I do? Nothing negative has happened between us, so I don't know what is going on. He refuses to answer my emails/questions about it. Thank you!

— Experts please respond to this post —

Members don't see this ad.

Well, sometimes people are busy and frankly, when I have to write a LOR, it goes generally to the bottom of my "To Do" pile. So it could just be that... But maybe something is up.

Do you want to call his bluff? Draft the letter yourself. Embellish, say all the great things you've done, how amazing you are, how you are the bees knees, etc.