General Pre-PA; Am I in good shape to apply?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MusicDOc124

Staff member
Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! Just looking for some advice/ input/ personal experience with applying to PA school.

I graduated in May 2019 with a Bachelors of Science in Kinesiology with stats that were subpar at best. I’ve always known I wanted to be in medicine but struggled a lot with my science courses in undergrad. Since graduating I’ve retaken every single pre req (plus additional science classes) averaging about a 3.8 in my last 40 credits (still taking classes in Fall 2020 and Spring 2021.) I’m planning to apply in June 2021 and at that time I will have 60 PostBac credits.

Im hopeful to continue with an upwards trend for the remainder of my classes which should give me the following stats by June 2021:

cgpa: 3.2

sgpa:3.2

In terms of PCE/HCE/Shadowing hours:

I’m an ER scribe with about 1000 hours, planning to take my NREMT this month (delayed due to COVID) and I will begin working as an EMT as soon as I get my certification. I have about 200 HCE as a PT Aide, 300 as a Pharmacy Tech, and about 250 PCE through a trip to Nicaragua with Global Medical Brigades. I’m hoping to have well over 2000 hours by the time I apply.
I work with many ED PA’s whom I have and plan to continue to shadow. I’ve also shadowed an Oncology PA for about 20 hours.

I have not taken my GRE yet but plan to take it in October.

I’m mostly applying to schools who do more holistic admissions and consider a last 60 credit gpa along with a pre req grade replacement policy with hopes to emphasize my upwards trend in grades.

What do you guys think about my stats?? Do any of you have experience applying as a low gpa non traditional student?? Do you guys have any tips for what I can improve? Tips for CASPA?

Any advice/ input in general would be extremely helpful!! Thank you in advance!!