Pre-dental looking for help to answer a couple questions....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Deelyons19

Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I am a nontraditional pre-dental student who is looking to transfer to a university to start my classes for my bachelors in Biology BS in the fall of 2020. I don't have a super competitive GPA at the moment but my goal is for it to be at least a 3.5-3.6 once I am done with my bachelors.I did not take school as serious as I needed to in my first two years of college. I was working full time, and going to school full time but I maintained a B average. I have a 18 month old daughter now and I just want to be the best example of a parent that I can be. I am going to continue to chase my dreams of becoming a dentist. I just got my dental assistant diploma with expanded functions. I am looking to attend a dental school in Florida, either UF or Nova. Has anyone attended either of these colleges? I am still going to apply to as many schools as I can.
When should I start studying for the DAT? Would my assisting hours count as shadowing hours or do I have to shadow off the clock? How many volunteer hours on average would be ideal?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
When should I start studying for the DAT?
I'd start after you've taken the majority of your pre-reqs, if not all (Bio I & II, Chem I & II, Ochem I & II at minimum). Ideally, you'd take this sometime during your third year/before the summer of your fourth year, since you will be applying that summer.
Would my assassinating hours count as shadowing hours or do I have to shadow off the clock?
I'm concerned about these assassinating hours :p Unfortunately though, they will not count as shadowing hours since you are getting paid -- thus they are employment hours. You will have to shadow off the clock, at least 100 hours or so.
How many volunteer hours on average would be ideal?