This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Frmr FP

Reaction score
I'm new to the SDN. I formerly went to medical school and decided to to quit my first year of residency in FP to go to podiatry school. I am now at the end of my first year of residency in podiatry. I have found several states (Tennessee, Texas, Pennsylvania, Hawaii, Connecticut, Kentucky, etc) only require a one year residency if any to practice podiatry there. My questions: do these states mean "one year of a one year program" or "one year of a three year program"? will I have a tough time finding a job considering I'm competing with 3 year trained residents? Will it be challenging to find a diabetic foot care position contracting to nursing homes/making house calls, especially underserved areas? Will pursuing the latter make a decent living?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm new to the SDN. I formerly went to medical school and decided to to quit my first year of residency in FP to go to podiatry school. I am now at the end of my first year of residency in podiatry. I have found several states (Tennessee, Texas, Pennsylvania, Hawaii, Connecticut, Kentucky, etc) only require a one year residency if any to practice podiatry there. My questions: do these states mean "one year of a one year program" or "one year of a three year program"? will I have a tough time finding a job considering I'm competing with 3 year trained residents? Will it be challenging to find a diabetic foot care position contracting to nursing homes/making house calls, especially underserved areas? Will pursuing the latter make a decent living?

Thanks!
Were you a DO or an MD ?

Thanks!