Practicing in Austria

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sniperr007

Reaction score
I am a medical student from Nigeria. I will be done with medical school in 2021.

I will like to do my specialization in Austria and also practice there as a doctor.

Please. What are the requirements and necessary steps.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

I am a medical student from Nigeria. I will be done with medical school in 2021.

I will like to do my specialization in Austria and also practice there as a doctor.

Please. What are the requirements and necessary steps.

Thank you

Not 100% sure with Austria. But I believe it's similar to Germany (I'm currently finishing my paperwork to start residency here).

I will describe the process in Germany and hope that might help you.

You need to get an Approbation in order to practice medicine. For this you need

1) Language requirement via a test called Fachsprachprüfung (oral doctor/patient and doctor/doctor communication skills inGerman)

2) General medical test called Kenntnisprüfung. Imagine Step 2CS and CK but it's oral and in German obviously.

After passing both tests you get the license and can apply to a residency spot. There is no matchmaking or ranking system. You just go to any hospital with a vacancy and apply for employment.

Residencies last for at least 5 years (can take up to 7 or so) and sometimes you have to switch to another hospital to continue your training. It's an open end system. After you meet certain requirements you can apply for "board certification" to make an analogy

The hardest part is the language barrier. It took me around 10 months to go from no german to B2-C1. The Fachsprachrpüfung is based on C1.

Reactions: 1 user
Not 100% sure with Austria. But I believe it's similar to Germany (I'm currently finishing my paperwork to start residency here).