PostBac with low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dukecrazie

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a senior, graduating in May. Right now, My GPA is around a 2.8. What postbac programs, if any, can I get into? I am taking the MCATs in April and hopefully I can pull out a 30. My major is Biology. Has anyone heard about the NIH program and the difficulty/competitiveness of gettin accpeted?

What are my other options in the Health field? (I am looking into Ross Med, in dominica. Is this a good move????)

Thanks for the help.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey,
I am in a similar situation to yours, though I have already taken the MCAT. I too am a senior and considering all my options, so here's my POV on this:

Whatever, you do, make sure your MCAT is above average. 30 is fine, but if you can, try for a 33 or so. A high MCAT will help offset(but not eliminate the damage from) a low GPA. I am actually banking on this. My GPA is a 3.1. MCAT 34.

That said, stay away from Ross or other FMG's unless you have some strong reason to go there or unless you have tried repeatedly for US schools 3 or so years. I have been told that you should try for Osteopathic schools(DO schools) before you head overseas. FMGs will give you a great education, I'm sure, but you will be handicapped come residency app time. US allo will be your best option if you're trying to go on a "Traditional" route.

You have yet to take the MCAT, and thats a huge factor in this. But if you still don't get accepted with a great MCAT score, I would(and might be doing this myself) shoot for a post-bacc program that caters to people trying to enhance their records. Harvard, UPenn are some of the more reputable(name-wise) that let you correct your past. There is obviously some $$$ involved but if you can ace a post-bacc program and do well on the MCAT, I am told that you have a very strong chance at getting in somewhere.