POSTBAC IRTA NIH 2019

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kaiser_1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

Has anyone applied to the IRTA post bac at the NIH for this year? For former post bacs, how was you experience and what were some of the challenges you faced during your time there?

I had an interview today for Bethesda, MD. Has anyone ever worked there? Please share your experience and what you did! Any advice for prospective post bacs?

Members don't see this ad.

How was your interview? I have one too next week. Any advice??
It was amazing! I was asked a lot of questions about long term goals and what my research interest are. I'm an MPH student so fortunately my research background aligned with the kind of research the lab deals with. I'd say it's a hit or miss. This was my first interview and I have a second one at the end of this month.

Are you an undergrad or are you looking to apply to med school after completing the post bac?

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, I am an undergrad. I plan to apply to med school after completing the post bacc.
I am super excited about the interview, and also little nervous, because I have zero experiences with the lab I will be interviewing with. Do you live in the area, or did you have to travel far to interview?

Yes, I am an undergrad. I plan to apply to med school after completing the post bacc.
I am super excited about the interview, and also little nervous, because I have zero experiences with the lab I will be interviewing with. Do you live in the area, or did you have to travel far to interview?
No, this interview was conducted over the phone-- I probably would've stuttered had it been in person lol. I have super bad anxiety but if I had to travel, I wouldn't mind it. (Gotta face your fears!)