Post Step 1 feels

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dent24

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Salute sdners, this post is meant to those waiting to finding out their step scores, wondering if there’s a chance they passed, going back and forth, piling up a list of dumb questions they got wrong, impending doom.

Quick background. Currently in my intern year of OMFS residency. In other words, I am a recently graduated Dental student, now taking overnight calls closing monstrous facial lacs then heading straight into work on 3 hours of interrupted sleep, making sure sedation rooms set up for chief, OR and patients are in line as planned, seeing 20 clinic pts, while my pager is going off taking ED consults, the list goes, in other words, a bolus of responsibility never experienced in dental school. I was also expected to find the time to get through UWorld and first aid, a whole other ball game.

PREPPING:
UWorld - read questions when commuting to work, I saw nothing but my phone, sometimes I wondered how I actually got to work without getting pedestrian struck lol. My target goal was to get through 40 questions a day
First aid - the Bible of medicine. For the 2 hours I had after work, It was dedicated to this. Listened to pathoma here and there when I hit the speed bumps.
Sketchymicro
Picmonic - pharm

Total prep time - 11 weeks

SCORES
UWorld, 61% average (made it through most but not all)
NBME 19 - 194 (1 month out)
NBME 18 - 203 (2 weeks out)
UWSA2 - 190 (2 days out) ouch! was hoping for some confidence boost there

Rolled the dice and took exam

EXAM DAY

Clif bars and espresso shots - weak sauce, I kno

Section 1 - if theres one question I want to get right on this exam, its the very first one. Guessed on the first 5, section 1 was a cluster ****, felt like the hardest section a lot of guessing going on, maybe certain about 10 questions, but thats it. No time for review. 5 minute break