Possible publication!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

grayblue

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I worked in a lab for over a year and didn't like it so much due to the work environment (very high expectations). Anyway, the PI promised me a publication (I know it's a great opportunity!!). The person I worked most closely with under the PI also talked about writing the paper, which we would co author!

Only problem is the PI or anyone from the lab hasn't reached out about the paper!! However, the person I worked closely with, recently emailed me and she sent me an abstract she put me in. This is great, but she included this other assistent (that came to the lab later than me, stayed for ~5months), in front of me on the abstract!

I thought that was just odd since iv'e been helping this girl for over a year!! Anyway, the biggest problem is the publication! How do I even email or follow up on the publication, (that doesn't come off as rude or condescending!!) Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

It's very possible the new worker contributed more than you on the project and deserves the place above you. It really doesn't matter though, rearranging the listing of the middle authors is likely to do nothing in the grand scheme of things. Just thank the person keeping you in touch and ask to be kept in the loop for any future developments with the paper.

Reactions: 1 user
Its almost a year since I was at this lab. What if they never email or follow up about the publication! Should i just send an email to the pi?

Members don't see this ad :)
Its almost a year since I was at this lab. What if they never email or follow up about the publication! Should i just send an email to the pi?