This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hester215

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so here is my story...

1. I am 23 years old. Have a 2.54 GPA
So far the sciences I took were
A&P 1 (got an A)
A&P 2 (got an B
Introductory to Chem (A)
General Chem, my THIRD retake this semester (aiming for an A of course)

2. So i only have 67 credits and this semester I am taking 3 classes: General Chem, Micro, and Intro to Nutrition. I picked up nutrition because I thought going the nursing route then MD would be a good idea which i higly regret considering(dont judge me). I am on the decline in this nutrition class if I do not withdraw I can risk my gpa and I do not want that. My only withdraw is my freshman yr when i was undecided i withdrew from an Art class.

3. I am damn out of aid as an undergrad, i just turned 23 this Feb. so I have til Fall 2017 to wait to go independent for more aid (financial aid office words).

I need advice what to do. All I can ponder is my chances of getting into medical school over..I really want this I cannot sit and grind for anything else. Medicine is the profession for me i know it.

What to do? Is there still a chance? What do you recommend?? All advice are welcomed

P.S. I am currently at a junior college and I am a minority (Afr.American)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Change your avatar to protect your anonymity.

You will be fighting a real uphill battle if you are serious about medicine. Have you shadowed at all?

Reactions: 1 user
no not at all. Only thing remotely to shadowing I did was the job I am at currently, a security guard at Penn Medicine Rehabilitation Hospital

Members don't see this ad :)
no not at all. Only thing remotely to shadowing I did was the job I am at currently, a security guard at Penn Medicine Rehabilitation Hospital