Please HELP!! What Should I do With MY PreReq English Class??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Should i take English 1 my Junior Year??

• YESSSS!!!!

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • NOOOO!!!!

Votes: 4 66.7%

• Total voters

DarkKnight835

It's not brain science or rocket surgery!
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN Members! I have been on here for quite awhile, but this is my first time posting. Thank you for your wise advices in helping pre-meds like myself!

Anyway, I am a rising Sophomore and just looked at my classes and requirements for med school, I had a 3 on my AP English and was exempt from taking English 1. Consequently, I took English 2 and a communication class my freshman year. Now I just looked at many individual school websites and they specifically stated that their students REQUIRES 2 semesters of English, or at the very least get a 4 or 5 on the AP English Exam, which I didn't met :/

So should I take English 1 my Junior year to fill the requirement?? I know some school allow my communication OR a Writing Intensive Course to replace it, which I planned to take my Junior Year anyway, although this option is a bit iffy since I'm not sure if all schools allow that. I can't take it my sophomore year because currently I am signed up for 3 Science classes with labs, my schedule is packed and I don't want to risk getting low grades..

TL: DR: Took English 2 and Communication Class freshman year. Plan to take Writing Intensive course Junior year. Should I ALSO take English 1 my JUNIOR year to fulfill med school pre-reqs?

Members don't see this ad.