Placed on Academic LOA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FarmerToDoctor

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 2nd year medical student. This past semester I failed OPP/OMM/OMT and did not pass the remediation exam over winter break. Because of this I was placed on an Academic Leave of Absence for the spring 2023 semester and was given the opportunity to return in Fall 2023 and repeat my 2nd year of medical school over again, in its entirety. Basically I am getting held back a year.

I was in a similar situation in Spring 2022 but was able to pass the OPP and Anatomy remediation exams for that semester and continue on with my class.

I don't have an issue passing the practical portion of OPP or the systems courses (GI, Cardio, Pulm, Derm, etc.), but I have always had an issue with passing the written OPP exams at my program. I am really unsure of the implications that this LOA will have on my residency application and if it is even worth it to go back. I wanted to go into IM and become a cardiologist but I think the chances of that being a possibility have gone down, especially with it now being more competitive than EM.

After undergrad I worked for a year as a lab manager at a college. After that I went to grad school to do a MS in biology, ended up switching grad programs and finished with a MBA. It took me 5 years of work after undergrad to get into medical school. I made it 3 semesters into medical school and this hiccup happened. I do not think I am willing to give up on this dream yet, because the option is still there, but I just don't know if it's worth it anymore or if I will have a chance of getting a residency spot.

Members don't see this ad.

• Care
Reactions: 2 users
You can match IM with a repeat year, I know lots of students who have repeated & successfully matched. Ive also repeated a year, feel free to DM me if you’d like.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)