physics in undergrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EMPOWERurSELF!

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an undergrad student who's intrigued by oncology/radiation oncology. Having a role in helping patients deal with cancer diagnosis and treatment seems like a very difficult, humbling, and rewarding experience! My only problem is that I've struggled in physics as an undergrad so far. For those in the field: have you found that you have needed a strong background to excel in your specialty? If so, can you give me any tips on studying/understanding physics that has helped you as an undergrad? Any feedback or help is very welcome...thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You dont really need a strong physics background for radonc or radiology. Medical physicists/engineers are the ones that design the scanners and really design the pulse sequences and scan protocols used.

the rads/radonc people just use and implement what the physics gurus build.

You need to know some basic stuff about radiation dosage and radiation biology, but you can learn that stuff in a day. The computer does all the real computational stuff.

What makes someone a radonc is educated guessing and experience in determining how many types of which kind of radiation should be applied to different tumors in the brain/body.

Its 5% math/physics, 95% biology/anatomy

I have to interject here: while you absolutely do not need to be a physics maven to be a rad onc doc, you caanot learn it in a day. In fact while I am hardly a physicist, I have to take excetion with the previous post's decription of what you need to know.