Physician Mortgage options for someone finishing residency + IBR

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Slaol

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that there are other threads on this board dedicated to home loans for physicians, but many of them are outdated or not relevant to people in my situation.

I am in my final year of residency in Family Medicine and have signed a contract to work in rural Texas next year. My wife and I have never owned a home, and are wanting to buy a home in the town where I will be working (there is not much of a rental market there). The average price for most homes we would be interested in there is $180k- $225k.

I have significant student loan debt (higher than the national average, $>300k), therefore I would need a special program in order to qualify for a loan solely based on debt:income. I have been making Income-Based Repayments (IBR) since starting residency, and my credit score is currently >700.

Questions:

1. Are there any loan program options for physicians that would provide 0% down and include closing costs into the loan?
  2. Do I have to have my loans in deferment/forbearance in order to qualify for physician mortgages? (I am hoping to keep making payments in order to reach 120 payments for PSLF)
  3. If programs are available, what kind of time frame are we looking at in order to qualify/move forward on the loan?
Thank you very much in advance for any help.

medical-school_loan-student_debt-tuition-tuition_fee-medical_degree-aton4796_low.jpg

Members don't see this ad.

I know that there are other threads on this board dedicated to home loans for physicians, but many of them are outdated or not relevant to people in my situation.