Pharmacy Tech going for PharmD.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Orion2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, new to this forum.

I'm a pharmacy technician at a compounding pharmacy, I've been there for the past three years now. I'm 29 years old from South Florida and I've made up my mind and I want to become a pharmacist. Problem is I get a lot of conflicting information from different pharmacist I know on which is the right path towards a PharmD. This is a great forum, I've been lurking for a while and I thought it be better to get some answers to my questions here. By the way I have searched this forum for answers but none pertain to my situation very well.

Question time:

I'm enrolling in Miami Dade College for their Pre-Pharmacy program in the Fall. I've heard from different pharmacists that you only need an A.A to get into Pharmacy School, some say get a B.A. and even others have said just do the pre requisites listed on the Pharm Schools website, that you don't even need a degree. How true is that last part? I ask because I'm 29 and would like to take the most efficient route to Pharm school but I also don't want to half a** it. If I need a B.A. to get in, I'll get the B.A. but what is the most efficient route?

Another question is debt. Nova is the closest Pharm School to me, I live in Miami but have heard they're pricey. Something like $40k a year. I've heard FAMU in Tallahassee is the cheapest in Florida. Should I go with the cheapest school when it comes time to apply? Does debt matter considering how much a Pharmacist makes? Do potential employers view degrees from different schools differently? Would a PharmD from Nova give me better chances of landing a good job? Does it even matter?

I'm sorry for all these newby questions, it's just I feel pretty lost to be honest. Thank you so much in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user