Pharmacy School Accelerated Track

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mjk470

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a pre-pharmacy student in a program with a not so prestigious pharmacy school, and I was looking for input as to whether or not I should continue in the program.

The pros of my affiliation is the length of time spent in school; I am in the 2+3 program, so I will be in undergraduate school for 2 years and then Pharmacy school for 3 years.

I currently have a 4.0 GPA after my first year in undergraduate school, taking 18 and 19 credit hours per semester. Hopefully, I can keep up my grades during pharmacy school. With these grades, could I get a good residency after school, or should I consider going to school for a longer period of time and applying to a more prestigious pharmacy school?

Overall, my question is should I continue with my program or not?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
I can answer your question, I believe, quite accurately, but first, I need to know- is there a particular residency you desire to pursue at JH ie a PGY2 or just a general residency?

Ideally, PGY2. And, out of curiosity, how would your answer be different if I were aiming for a general residency at JH?

Members don't see this ad :)
Seeing if you wanted to go there bc of a specialty and the opportunities in place vs prestige...just was going to also give advice on priorities but if it's a pgy2 that's completely relevant and I agree on with you