Peripheral vascular disease

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NDcienporciento100

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi
I am a physician with a strong interest in peripheral vascular disease. I am curious about your training because you care for patient with both arterial disease and venous disease wounds. What are you taught regarding when you should refer a patient for venous disease work-up or for arterial disease work-up? Do they teach you to work it up yourself and if so how? Do they teach how a patient should be treated procedurally for vascular disease? Do they tell you who you should refer to?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi
I am a physician with a strong interest in peripheral vascular disease. I am curious about your training because you care for patient with both arterial disease and venous disease wounds. What are you taught regarding when you should refer a patient for venous disease work-up or for arterial disease work-up? Do they teach you to work it up yourself and if so how? Do they teach how a patient should be treated procedurally for vascular disease? Do they tell you who you should refer to?
Are you an interventional radiologist?

Hi
Podiatrists are trained to interpret arterial studies just like anyone else who is interested enough to learn how to read them.

Non palpable or weakly palpable pulses are always abnormal. My threshold for ordering non invasive vascular studies is incredibly low. Especially in patients with DM2, CKD, ESRD, Smoker, etc. There always some component of tibial vessel disease present in these patients. When I order my arterial studies I get segmental pressures, ABIs, toe pressures.

Whether I refer to IR or vascular surgery depends on which doctor is on call. We have good IR docs and some bad ones. We have some good vascular docs and others who are really not helpful at all.